About the Dja Dja Wurrung -  The Jaara People

The land of the Dja Dja Wurrung takes in the catchment area for the Loddon, Campaspe and Avoca Rivers in the Riverine region of central/western Victoria. Bendigo is the largest city in Dja Dja Wurrung country. Other cities and towns are Wedderburn, Castlemaine, St Arnaud, Maryborough, Boort, Heathcote and Maldon.

Today Bendigo is still the cultural centre of Dja Dja Wurrung territory.The Dja Dja Wurrung Aboriginal Association Inc. in Bendigo is an organisation that was formed in 1982, initially by students to service the needs of Aboriginal people in the area. The Board is made up of directors from Bendigo, Heathcote, Castlemaine, Kyneton and Maryborough.

Some of the Dja Dja Wurrung clans are:

  • Wangaro-bulluk
  • Beal-bulluk
  • Burong-bulluk
  • Terack-bulluk
  • Learka-bulluk (Liarga-balug) - near Mt Tarrengower and Maldon
  • Kalkalgoondeet
  • Konangara balluk
  • Gal Gal Bulluk (Galgal Balug) - Mt Mitchell and Burnbank
  • Wornbulluk
  • Turingbulluk
  • Yongbulluk


The two moeity totems of the Jaara people are Bunjil the Eaglehawk and Waang the Crow.

Further information...

To learn more about the Jaara people, contact:

Chief Executive Officer
Dja Dja Wurrung Clans Aboriginal Corporation (ICN: 4421)
P.O. Box 1026 Bendigo 3552
P 03 5444 2888


A Dja Dja Wurrung Story

Click above to read an interview with Rodney Carter.